News Archives

Oakland Raiders Will Play All Four Conference Championship Representatives in 2014

January 19th, 2014 at 7:05 AM
By Nicholas Gill

Today two teams will punch their ticket to Super Bowl XLVIII when the New England Patriots play the Denver Broncos for the AFC Championship and the San Francisco 49ers play the Seattle Seahawks for the NFC Championship. During the 2014 season, the Oakland Raiders will play all four of these teams when they face a tough schedule next season.

'Tom Brady' photo (c) 2009, Keith Allison - license:

Because the Raiders play the NFC West and the AFC East next year, they will see the Seahawks, 49ers, and Patriots. They face their rival the Denver Broncos twice each season in the AFC West. Oakland has "Tuck Rule" history with the Patriots and a cross town rivalry with San Francisco, making both of those games very important and interesting. However, it will be a tall task for the Raiders to play the four best teams from the 2013 season and the eventual Super Bowl champion. 

The Raiders are using this offseason to re-build their roster with talent. They have plenty of salary cap space and a good compliment of selections in the 2014 NFL Draft. General manager Reggie McKenzie vowed to be aggressive this offseason finding players to help the Raiders. The Oakland team will look very different when they face these four teams next season. It will be the ultimate test to see how much the Raiders have improved and how far they have to go.

Tags: 2014 NFL Draft, AFC West, Denver Broncos, Football, New England Patriots, NFL, Oakland, Oakland Raiders, Reggie McKenzie, San Francisco 49ers, Seattle Seahawks, Super Bowl XLVIII, Tuck Rule

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: